Loara Baseball Tournament celebrates the proud legacy of providing baseball excellence for High School Teams for over 40 years in existence.  We congratulate the past champions and wish this year’s team the best of luck!

  • CIFKnown as the “Premier Baseball Tournament” in Southern California for High School competition
  • Annual Tournament kicks of the C.I.F. Southern Section baseball season. Held each year during the first 2 weeks of March
  • 32 participants, including most of the premier high school programs in the C.I.F. Southern Section (470+ schools)

Since 1983, 31 C.I.F Champions have been participants in the Loara Tournament. From 1994-2008 the Loara Tournament has has at least 1 C.I.F Champion and it has had a finalist during 2009-11, and there is now a  current 3 year  streak of CIF champions


  • Formerly known as the Troy Tournament, created by Nick Fuscardo – current head coach at Fullerton Community College
  • In 1982, Loara High School took over sponsorship of the tournament under Scott Pickler – current head coach at Cypress Community College
  • Tournament Directors:
Nick Fuscardo 1976-81
Scott Pickler 1982-83
Ray Moore 1984-91
Brian Batesole 1992
Dave Lappin/Ray Moore 1993-2003
Dave Lappin/Chuck McCance 2004-2016
Shaun Hill/ Dave Lappin 2017

Tournament Teams Information

An “average Loara Tournament team has the following characteristics:

  • This year’s field averaged 16.3 wins and a .586 winning % in 2016
  • The “average” for a team’s tenure in the tournament is 17 years
  • An “average” coach in this tournament has 15 years of head coaching experience
  • During an “average” year, 21 out of the 32 teams will qualify for C.I.F. playoffs

Tournament Dinner

Annually, a dinner is held for head coaches and staff of participating teams. Also in attendance are local college coaches, O.C. baseball umpires and tournament staff. Held at Mama Cozza’s restaurant in Anaheim, this has always been an enjoyable event that helps to usher in the high school baseball season. The dinner has also featured some notable speakers that have been kind enough to share some of their knowledge with our group. Past speakers have included:

2016 Steve Fryer OC Register
2015 Bobby Cramer Former Oakland A’s
2014 Steve Springer Toronto Blue Jays Performance Coach
2013 Charlie Hough Former Dodger
2012 Rudy Law Former Dodger/White Sox
2011 Abe Flores Director of Player Personnel -Angels
2010 Tom Tereschuk Head Baseball Coach- Chapman College
2009 Bill Russell Former  Dodger
2007 Jeff Patterson Former Yankee / Senior Yankee Scout
2006 Dave Frost Former Angel
2005 Darrel Miller Former Angel and Dodger
2004 Stan Johnston Head Trainer – L.A. Dodgers
2003 Matt Luke / Jose Mota Former Dodger and Angel / Angel Broadcaster
2001 Adam Kennedy Anaheim Angels
2000 Jose Tolentino Angel Broadcaster
1999 Jeff Pickler Brewers Minor League Player of the Year
1997 Tony Muser Chicago Cubs / Former Royals Manager
1996 Brian Roberts MLB Training Consultant
1995 Tommy Davis Former Dodger
1994 Tony Muser Chicago Cubs